Wallet Slayer Vol. 1 Card Case for iPhone Xs REVIEW

MacSources
4 min readNov 19, 2018

--

A few years ago, I wasn’t sure how I felt about wallet cases that held the cards on the back of the phone. I never thought that I would find it convenient to pull cards or cash out of a tiny, tight-fitting slot attached to the back of a case. One case changed my mind — the Wallet Slayer Vol. 2 from Silk-Smartish Products. That case features a leather sleeve on the backside of the case that provided the user a place to store a couple of cards and/or some cash. It actually changed how I saw cases of that style as well as how I used my phone. After significant use of that case, the leather started loosening up and I decided to move away from using it for fear that I might lose my cards. As it turns out, Silk also designs another wallet case called the Wallet Slayer Vol. 1. It’s similar in design but eliminates the leather sleeve.

DETAILS

Wallet Slayer Vol. 1 is a wallet case that can store up to 3 cards plus cash. It features an ultra-light but durable construction and it has very nice textured sides to help you maintain your grip on the phone. The corners of the case have air pockets built in to provide additional impact protection for your phone. There is a screen protector included in the package with the case and the case actually provides some protection for the screen with its built-in lip on the front.

USER EXPERIENCE

I was interested in this case since it’s sort of a ‘sister’ to the other Wallet Slayer from Silk. I was a little concerned about the bulk on the back of the case where the card compartment is but as it turns out, it’s really not too much. It hasn’t impeded my ability to grip the phone or use my phone with any of the accessories I have. The Lightning port and speakers are not blocked by the case at all and all the buttons have a natural feel to them. Because the back of the case has a bump for the card storage, I was a little concerned that the camera would be blocked but the case does not show up in any photos I’ve taken.

As for the card storage, this case has a unique pouch for the cards/cash. Once the cards slide through the slot, they are locked in place by a small rubber (at least, that’s what it appears to be) bumper on the inside. There is a small notch that allows you to push the cards out through the original opening, but until you do, the cards stay firmly in place. I did find on more than one occasion that I inadvertently tap the card out of place by just the natural placement of my fingers on the back of the case. The cards still did not fall out but it certainly made me more aware of where my hand was placed.

The iPhone Xs fits nicely into this case. Silk actually provides this case for several different iPhone models including the X, Xs, Xr, and Xs Max. Silk has a few color options including Black Tie Affair, Blues on the Green, Red Rover Red Rover, and Flavor of the Month, which includes a custom print that Silk features. The case will allow for wireless charging but it’s recommended that you remove all cards from the case before using a Qi-enabled wireless charger. One of the things I really like about this case is that the material, while durable, is very flexible, which makes it easy to install or remove the phone from the case.

CONCLUSION

The Wallet Slayer Vol. 1 is a wonderfully unique option for a wallet case. It’s not a traditional wallet case and it’s self-contained instead of a portfolio style wallet. I can recommend this case based on its ease of use and durability.

For more information, visit silksmartish.com.
Find Silk on Facebook and Twitter.

Related

Originally published at macsources.com on November 19, 2018.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 