Vivint Water Sensor REVIEW | MacSources

MacSources
3 min readMar 2, 2021

A Tiny Sensor that may save you a fortune!

If you have ever had a water leak, you are likely aware that the repairs could cost a few hundred dollars if you catch them early. However, if a leak is more indolent, it can linger, causing more significant damage. Costs can balloon into several thousands of dollars. With washing machines, dishwashers, water heaters, toilets, pipe leaks, foundation leaks, etc., it is a wonder that we still consider ourselves land animals. With so many potential water source threats, a water sensor becomes an important feature of a home monitoring system.

Yesterday, 2/27/21, I helped my 2-year old daughter down to a nap when I heard my alarm system warning. It did not alert me to an open window/door; it did not alert me that someone had rung my doorbell, nor did it alert me that a fire was detected. Instead, the warning chimes noted that there was a water leak detected in the basement. I rushed downstairs to find water pouring down my dryer duct’s outer aspect onto my tile floor. The water sensor behind my washing machine had done its job and alerted me to the issue. Uncertain of the leak’s origin, I went outside to find that my children had turned on the outside water spigot. Unfortunately, this had caused a leak within the wall. Luckily, I was able to isolate the problem. I was able to shut-off…

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 