Twelve South BookBook Vol. 2 for iPad Pro REVIEW | Mac Sources

MacSources
5 min readJul 5, 2019

--

Twelve South BookBook Vol. 2 for iPad Pro

9.7

Designed to protect and elevate the new iPad Pro.

I love quality accessories for my mobile devices and Twelve South is usually the first one I turn to when I’m looking for something to elevate my device to the next level. They create amazing accessories for Apple products and that’s why they’ve been a favorite product designer of mine for many years. They make unique products that are very functional in both design and use. One of their most timeless designs is the BookBook mobile device case. They first released it for the iPhone, but have since created an entire family line of products that includes iPhone, MacBook Pros, and iPads. The BookBook Vol. 2 was released for the iPad Pro earlier this year and I’ve been very excited to have it as a partner for my 2018 iPad Pro.

DETAILS

Twelve South reengineered the BookBook Vol 2 for the new iPad Pros. This newest version includes some new key features including a built-in shell to securely hold the iPad Pro in place. There is added storage for the Apple Pencil and a new back cover camera window so capturing images and 4K video is easy while the iPad is in the case. To use the different viewing angles, users can lift the shell up for display mode to share a Keynote presentation or photos with others. BookBook vol. 2 for iPad Pro (available in both 11" and 12.9") is part of the BookBook collection of cases, including BookBook for iPhone and MacBook. Each BookBook is made from premium leather and is brought to life with hand craftsmanship and distressing, ensuring no two are alike.

Compatibility

  • BookBook for 12.9-inch (3rd gen): iPad Pro (12.9-inch, gen 3) (A1876, A2014, A1895, A1983)
  • BookBook for 11-inch iPad Pro: iPad Pro (11-inch) (A2013, A1934, A1979, A1980)

USER EXPERIENCE

The BookBook Vol. 2, like other BookBook versions, is contoured specifically to fit the new iPad Pro. I personally have the 11-inch version so my BookBook measures 10.67×8.1×0.94 inches, which isn’t much larger than the iPad itself. Empty, the BookBook weighs 12 ounces, which is a really nice compliment to the lightweight nature of the iPad Pro. I typically carry my iPad without a case, but ever since I got the new iPad Pro and have an Apple Pencil to keep with it, I really like the functionality that the BookBook provides.

Installing the iPad into the built-in shell was easy. It just snapped into place. It was a little bit of a tight fit and getting the iPad out is a little bit of a chore, but I really appreciate how secure the iPad is inside its case. The rest of the BookBook is lined with a very soft microfiber fabric, which is similar to previous versions of the case. This helps to protect the delicate finish of the iPad’s screen. The BookBook has zippered closures that are accented with leather pulls. The zipper opens and closes easily and I’ve not had any issues with it sticking. Now that the iPad has the Apple Pencil as an accessory, I really like that this case closes completely because it helps the pencil to stay in place with the tablet.

The BookBook is very sturdy. Since I’ve had it for testing, I’ve tossed it around in and out of bags and found that my iPad has been safe inside. The only real criticism I have is that the storage pocket on the inside of the case isn’t really large enough for anything other than paper. I would love to see it be able to accommodate a cable and charging brick so that the case is a ‘real’ on the go companion for the iPad Pro.

CONCLUSION

A few years ago, I tried out the BookBook for the iPad Air 2. “Besides the gorgeous design of this case and all its wonderful functionality, the BookBook provides yet another feature that most people aren’t going to consider. Because it looks like a book, and actually feels like a hardback, leather-covered book, your iPad becomes incognito and looks just like a book.” This is still one of my favorite features of the BookBook — even in its 2nd generation form. It takes this remarkable piece of technology and makes it feel like an old-fashioned book. There is just something really classic about that.

I can’t wait to see what Twelve South comes up with next. The BookBook is an outstanding case for the iPad Pro.

For more information, visit twelvesouth.com, Facebook, and Twitter.

Originally published at https://macsources.com on July 5, 2019.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 