Targus CityLite Pro Slim Briefcase REVIEW | Mac Sources

MacSources
4 min readMay 6, 2019

--

Targus CityLite Pro Slim Briefcase

9

Great for all the essentials.

I grew up with Targus laptop bags. And when I say grew up, I mean I literally grew up with a Targus messenger bag in my hands. They were some of the first laptop briefcases I remember being readily available and in high school, I actually carried one around as my music bag. I really ran that bag through the wringer and it held up beautifully. Fast forward, 20 years and here I am holding another Targus. This time it’s the CityLite Pro Slim Briefcase.

DETAILS

The CityLite Pro Slim Briefcase is designed to fit laptops up to 15 inches in size. It’s ‘streamlined’ to provide space for the essential everyday items you must carry throughout your day. There is a large quick-access zippered front pocket along with dual interior compartments for organizing files and folders. The messenger-style bag also features a trolley pass-through luggage strap and metal hardware with soft-touch zipper pulls. The handles are structured to be ergonomic and the heathered material used to wrap the case resists fading, stains, and wetness.

SPECS

  • Works with 16" laptops and under
  • Color: Gray
  • Style: Briefcase
  • Protection Level: Good
  • Collection: CityLite Pro
  • Dimensions: 17.90" x 12.80" x 3.94"
  • Weight: 1.72 lbs
  • Laptop Compartment: 13.78" x 9.84"
  • Warranty: Limited Lifetime Warranty

USER EXPERIENCE

When the CityLife Briefcase arrived was awestruck by its unique slim style. I love the professional aesthetic the medium grey tones convey and I also love that it’s accentuated by a light blue color around the zippers and in the lining.

After marveling at the style of the bag for a few moments, I opened it up to examine the lining, pockets, and storage options. I noticed right off the bat that there was no padding included in the pockets meant for the laptop and tablet. This is kind of an immediate red flag to me with laptop bags. Even though it’s a ‘slim’ messenger-style bag, I would still expect there to be at least a minimal amount of padding for protection, but it’s a simple pocket designed with a wall of nylon that separates the device from the rest of the items in that compartment. Even though I was surprised by this design choice, I realized that it’s easily remedied by adding a padded sleeve into the kit to protect the laptop and/or tablet.

Even though the padding left something to be desired in my opinion, there was still quite a bit of room in the bag. I was able to fit my 13-inch MacBook Pro inside a sleeve, an iPad Pro, two different notepads, several writing utensils, some random cables, and an external hard drive inside the pouches of the bag. I really love how many different options there are to organize items inside the briefcase. It has really helped me cull down my everyday needs.

CONCLUSION

While I love the streamline style of the CityLite Briefcase, I can’t say it’s ideal for my purposes. I feel that the lack of padding in the laptop and tablet pockets will keep me from using this on daily trips back and forth to work as well as traveling. That said, the ‘style’ of the bag lends itself to be a wonderful travel bag. If you can add a protective sleeve to your laptop, the CityLite Briefcase can accommodate it and that would solve the padding concerns that I have.

I absolutely love the simply elegant lines that the CityLite Briefcase has and I love how easy it is to get things in and out of it. It’s a lovely messenger-style bag and minus the small issue with the padding element, I would happily recommend it to friends and family.

For more information, visit us.targus.com
Find Targus on Facebook and Twitter.

Originally published at https://macsources.com on May 6, 2019.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 