Satechi Aluminum Bluetooth Keyboard REVIEWS

MacSources
4 min readNov 1, 2018

--

In order to work productively, I think it’s important to enjoy using the equipment you’re working with. My main equipment ends up being my laptop and its accessories external monitor, keyboard, and mouse. I’m extraordinarily picky about the keyboard I use. I really enjoy the butterfly switches that are a part of the Apple MacBook Pro keyboard, but I also enjoy a standard mechanical switch on an external keyboard. The only issue I really have with mechanical keyboards is that they are bulky. I have a compact desk environment and so I need compact equipment to match it. I recently started using the Aluminum Bluetooth Keyboard for Mac by Satechi, which is one of my favorite accessory companies. They do a great job of making products that are complementary to Apple products and that makes it easier for me to enjoy them.

DETAILS

Satechi has a very nice line of keyboard products to go along with Apple computers. The Aluminum Bluetooth Keyboard is a full-size keyboard (including 10-key number pad) which is fairly unique for a Bluetooth keyboard. It features scissor-switches so it has a more mechanical feel than standard membrane keyboards do. This keyboard has the ability to switch between 3 different devices with the press of a button. It’s designed specifically for use with macOS and iOS devices. The keyboard is available in four different colors silver, space gray, gold, and rose gold. The Aluminum Bluetooth Keyboard is rechargeable via a USB-C rechargeable port (cable included). It will work while it’s charging, but will still require a Bluetooth connection for use. According to the specs on the website, the keyboard will last up to 80 hours of uninterrupted work time between charges and features a standby time of up to 100 days.

SPECS

  • Compatible Devices: iMac Pro, iMac, MacBook Pro/Air, MacBook, iPhone XS Max, XS, XR, X, 8 Plus, 8, iPad Pro, iOS and MacOS devices. System requirements MacOS v10.4 or later.
  • Connector Type: Bluetooth
  • Dimensions & Weight: 17 x 4.7 x 0.4 inches , 1.1 lbs
  • Guarantee: 1-year manufacturer warranty
  • What’s in the Box: Keyboard, USB-C charging cable, Quick Start Guide

USER EXPERIENCE

The Aluminum Bluetooth Keyboard comes packaged in a simple Satechi branded box. It’s not much larger than the keyboard itself. As I mentioned, it comes with a UBS-C cable and quick start guide, but that’s it. To get started with it, you pair it to your Mac or iOS device. I chose to go with my MacBook Pro. According to the quick start guide, to get started your turn on the Bluetooth connection on the device to be paired and then you turn on the keyboard. Finally, you press/hold the Bluetooth 1–3 assignment button. Once the blue LED is flashing, ‘Satechi Bluetooth Keyboard’ will appear in the Bluetooth menu of your device. You select that accessory name and then you can start using the keyboard normally.

I’ve not had any problems using the keyboard. It’s stayed connected as long as I’ve been using it. The only time I’ve had an issue was when the keyboard was low on battery power. When that happens sometimes I started getting double keystrokes when I only made one. I found that if I kept the keyboard plugged into power, then I stopped having issues. Even though this sort of defeats the purpose of it being a wireless keyboard, I preferred having the keyboard connected to a wire rather than losing a connection while I was in the middle of an assignment.

As I mentioned before, Satechi does a really nice job of creating accessories that match Apple products well. I got the Space Gray version of the keyboard and it matches my Space Gray MacBook Pro perfectly. The keyboard looks really slick sitting next to it on my desk.

CONCLUSION

The Aluminum Bluetooth Keyboard is a really great option for anyone looking to enhance their Apple computer accessories. It’s a great keyboard and it works flawlessly. It retails for $80, which is a moderate price for wireless keyboards. I can’t say enough good things about it.

For more information, visit satechi.net.
Find Satechi on Facebook and Twitter.

Related

Originally published at macsources.com on November 1, 2018.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 