Mophie Wireless Charging Pad REVIEW | Mac Sources

MacSources
4 min readAug 12, 2019

--

Mophie Wireless Charging Pad

10

Keep cables out of it with a wireless charging pad

I love wireless charging. To be fair, I love wireless everything. I hate wire clutter so the advent of wireless technology really brought me a lot of happiness. I was especially excited when wireless charging came to the iPhone (my smartphone of choice) in 2017 with the launch of the iPhone X. Now, nearly two years later, all the modern iPhones offer wireless charging. As much as I love wireless charging, I hate the sloth-like speed at which some of the wireless charging pads provide power to smartphones. Fortunately, mophie has a Wireless Charging Pad that is as powerful as it is compact.

DESIGN & DETAILS

The Wireless Charging Pad from mophie provides a fast, efficient charge in a small package. It is compatible with Apple iPhones as well as AirPods (with compatible wireless charging case). The pad outputs up to 7.5W of charge for connected devices. It has a sleek glass top for a pinch of sophistication. The charging pad is designed to work with all Qi-enabled devices and will charge through lightweight cases (up to 3mm thick). The Wireless Charging Pad has fail-safe circuitry included that prevents overcharging and controls the temperature to prevent overheating.

SPECS & FEATURES

  • COMPATIBILITY: iPhone Xs Max, iPhone Xs, iPhone Xr, iPhone X, AirPods, and other Qi-enabled devices
  • DIMENSIONS: 0.43 x 3.54 x 3.54 in (11 x 90 x 90 mm)
  • WEIGHT: 6.2 oz (176.0g)
  • WARRANTY: 2 Year Warranty
  • IN THE BOX: wireless charging pad / mophie power adapter / quick-start guide

USER IMPRESSIONS

The Wireless Charging Pad comes in a mophie branded box with an image of the product on the front. Some basic details are included on the box. On the inside of the box, you find the charging pad, the user manual, and the power adapter. I appreciate that mophie included an AC power adapter instead of one that uses Micro USB with a USB-A plug. The problem with those types of power adapters is that a lot of times people will simply plug them into a USB port without knowing what kind of power delivery they are getting. Most of the time, it’s either 5V1A or 5V2.4A, which is a standard for USB-A ports. If a consumer uses a wall adapter, they will likely get a faster power delivery rate depending on wattage of the power adapter. Fortunately, mophie used a power adapter that doesn’t allow users to get less than the best possible power option for this wireless charging pad.

One of the things I noticed right away with the Wireless Charging Pad was its weight. The base is only 176 grams, which is less than the iPhone XS (177 grams). Despite it being so lightweight, the charging pad doesn’t move around on the desktop, which is another feature I really like. The pad has silicone around the base so that it stays securely in place when it’s on a slick surface.

The charging pad has two color choices — white and black. I opted for the black version simply because it blends in a bit better when a phone is sitting on it. Mophie did a nice job of designing this charging pad as it’s sleek and compact. I sometimes prefer to ‘hardwire’ my wireless charger into my desk set-up, but since this one is so lightweight, I plan on using it for travel and for the times that I work remotely.

As far as testing goes, I found that I was averaging approximately 0.65% battery charge per minute. After on 29-minute charging session, the battery on an iPhone XS had increased by 19%. I have tested out several different styles of wireless chargers and was pleasantly surprised with these results. In comparison to two other wireless chargers (comparison below), the mophie Wireless Charging Pad has exceeded my charging expectations.

FINAL THOUGHTS

The mophie Wireless Charging Pad is a clear winner in my opinion. It provides a consistent, high-power charge for connected devices and is a lightweight traveling companion. The power adapter is a bit bulky, but works well for ensuring that you receive the maximum charge each time you use it. Even though it’s a simple puck design, I think this might be my favorite new wireless charging device.

For more details, visit mophie, Facebook, and Twitter.

Originally published at https://macsources.com on August 12, 2019.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 