iPhone 13 Pro Lives Up to the Hype | MacSources

MacSources
6 min readSep 27, 2021

This year’s model isn’t just an “s” year upgrade.

I always look forward to Apple’s September event because I know that it’s the dawn of a new iPhone model. Two years ago when the first pro models were launched, I was thrilled. The ‘pro’ has been my go-to iPhone model since then. Last year, I opted for an iPhone 12 Pro and I’ve been incredibly happy with its performance. So much so that I really thought long and hard about upgrading to the iPhone 13 Pro. Based on the announcements made by Apple on September 14, I wasn’t sure if the hassle of upgrading would be worth it this time around. On the surface, it seemed as though the updates to the iPhone were “S model” upgrades.

For those who are new to the iPhone family, an “S” year is sort of considered a half-upgrade. In previous years, the S models have been the same body style and size, but some moderate technical upgrades occur within the phone to make it worthwhile for those who want to upgrade every year. The first “S” model occurred in 2009 with the release of the iPhone 3GS. S models are somewhat lackluster and for most people, they just aren’t worth the trouble to upgrade. My fiance fits into that category. She has a 12 Pro and since she isn’t having any issues with it, she decided to forego the upgrade this year. After having the iPhone 13 Pro in my hands, I’m really happy to say that I’m glad I took the leap. It’s more than an “S” upgrade — it’s a solid device and worth every struggle I went through to get it.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 