IOGEAR 2-Port 4K KVM Switch With HDMI (GCS92HU)2022 REVIEW — MacSources

MacSources
8 min readJul 28, 2022

KVM Switch provides enhanced productivity when using multiple computers with a single workstation.

Over the years I’ve fought bouncing back and forth between computers throughout the day. I currently toggle between my personal 2020 M1 MacBook Air (13-inch) and a 2019 MacBook Pro (16-inch) for work. In the past though, I’ve switched between macOS and PC systems on a daily basis. Personally, I’ve never had an issue with switching between systems, but the mechanics of it can get a little cumbersome.

In my home office, I have an external monitor, speakers, Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, and a USB camera for video conferences. All of these peripherals are connected through a single Thunderbolt 3 docking station. I will then connect a single Thunderbolt cable to whichever laptop I am using at the time. Since both Mac notebooks will operate in closed clamshell mode, I can keep things pretty tidy by storing them in a vertical laptop stand.

This type of setup works pretty well except when I end up having to switch systems on a whim. If I could be 100% dedicated to my work laptop between 9 am-5 pm and then switch the cable to my other computer, I wouldn’t have any issues. But that doesn’t always work out that way…

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 