CHOETECH Fast Wireless Car Charger REVIEW Vent Mount and Wireless Charger

MacSources
4 min readJan 22, 2019

--

According to a Washington Post article dated February 26, 2016, the average American spends roughly 26 minutes commuting to and from work. Since most modern smartphone batteries last about twenty-four hours, we can use this time to add some much-needed charge to our phones. Many of us have single or multi USB charging car adaptors for our phones. I do not want to simply plug my iPhone XS Max into my car adaptor and place it into my cup holder, onto my dash or to leave it resting upon the center console. Thus, I like to utilize mounting systems like the Fast Wireless Charger from CHOETECH. It was a bonus to discover that the vent mount doubled as a wireless Qi charger.

The CHOETECH Fast Wireless Charger arrived in a 5 1/2 inches wide by 6 5/16 inches tall by 2 1/2 inches thick retail package. The cover, side and rear panels utilized a flat white background, with a blue-green accent, whereas the top and bottom panels were painted a solid blue-green color. The cover provided an attractive 4 3/8 inches tall by 2 1/8 inches wide image of their car charger cradling a translucent smartphone. The Model T536-S charger promised 10W max output, fast charging, charge protection, gravity linkage, and one hand operation. I enjoyed the rectangular splashes of blue-green on the cover and within the title. This theme was continued upon each of the side panels, with the use of black font for the words “Fast Wireless” and blue-green coloration for the words “Car Charger.” The back panel utilized a 5 1/4 inches wide by 2 1/8 inches tall photograph quality image of a dashboard with the CHOETECH vent mount car charger. Beneath the lifelike image, the company included a list of the specifications: 3–5mm wireless range, 93-gram weight, secure grip, single hand operation, anti-fire ABS material, 5V/2A 9V/1.8A input and up to 10W max output. The packaging also noted that the phone clamp could accommodate a range of 65–90mm. If you look along the bottom corner, you can scan the QR code to learn more about the company, email them at support@choetech.com or navigate to their website www.choetech.com.

When I opened the outer packaging, I found the CHOETECH charger/mount packaged within a thin plastic shell. Arriving in three parts, I needed to unscrew the lock screw, to insert the ball mount/vent clip into the screw nut and then to tighten the clamp. I then needed to insert the micro-USB cable into the bottom of the charger-mount. The vent hook was designed to be oriented toward the bottom, with the release button facing downward. If you need additional instruction, you can peruse the included hepta-lingual instruction manual (English, Germa, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese and Chinese). It was at this point that I noticed that the product did not come with a car adaptor and that I would need to supply a power source. I found this to be rather odd since the device could not physically charge anything out of the box. There was nothing on the packaging to alert the user to the need for an accessory adaptor, and I can imagine the ire of many people once they realized it. I typically carry a Ventev single port car adaptor in my truck to charge my phone, and I chose to use it in conjunction with the CHOETECH charger.

I pressed the button on the mount and pressed the hook/clip into the vent. I started by placing the mount low on the vent but found the combined weight of the iPhone XS Max plus mount to cause my vent to sag. I tried to angle the ball joint to allow the phone to have a better viewing angle but was unable to optimize my experience. I obtained a rubber doorstop and wedged it into the bottom of the vent and then cut the door stop just at the edge of the vent. I was much more pleased with the experience, once the vent remained stationary. The lateral arms of the device extended beyond the margins of my iPhone XS Max inside of a Catalyst Impact Case. When the weight of the phone pressed upon the lower rubberized C-shaped arms gripped the sides of the phone. To remove the phone, simply grip the upper edge and pull upward. As the weight of the phone upon the lower arm decreased, the side pressure also decreased. This allowed me to remove the phone utilizing a single hand. Once the phone rested within the cradle, the phone began to charge wirelessly. Initially, I did not notice a charging LED indicator. However, when I removed the vent mount from the car, I found a small green indicator on the back of the charger. Driving in the dark, I was able to notice the green LED. To test the rate of charge, I plugged a DROK USB-A multimeter into a Ventev QC3 Quick Car charger (5V/3A, 9V/2.5A, 12V/2.0A). The multimeter showed 5.06V/1.41A and provided just at the 7.5W max output for Apple phones. If you want to charge your iPhone quicker, you will need to use a wired connection with a lightning cable (USB-A to Lightning or USB-C to Lightning). If you desire a convenient, set it and forget it mount/wireless charger, CHOETECH has the perfect device for you.

Learn more about the CHOETECH Vent Mount
Follow CHOETECH on Facebook and Twitter.

Related

Originally published at macsources.com on January 22, 2019.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 