Case-Mate Tough Cases for iPhone 11 REVIEW | Mac Sources

MacSources
4 min readDec 12, 2019

--

Case-Mate Tough Cases for iPhone 11

9.3

Find the right fit with these cases from Case-Mate.

Finding the right case can be a futile effort sometimes. You search and search until you find just the right fit. Every time I switch iPhone models I’m left with the decision to search for a new case or to stick with one that’s tried and true. This year, I upgraded my phone to the iPhone 11 Pro. My decision was based on the upgrade in the camera hardware on the phone as I like to take lots of photos using my phone. With that in mind, I started looking for a variety of cases that could not only show off the design of the case, but also keep the phone and camera functional. One of the options I found was the Tough Speckled case by Case-Mate.

DETAILS & FEATURES

Case-Mate is an industry leader when it comes to phone cases and accessories. They use premium materials to create one-of-a-kind, functional products for mobile device enthusiasts. The Tough Speckled case is part of their “Tough” line of cases for the iPhone 11 models that were released earlier this year. The case features 10-foot drop protection and is compatible with wireless charging. It has a one-piece design for easy installation and features flexible grip sides. The case is designed to be ultra-slim and has an anti-scratch coating applied. Case-Mate’s cases come with a lifetime warranty. The Tough line of cases are available for the iPhone 11, 11 Pro, and 11 Pro Max. The line-up includes Tough Neon, Tough Speckled, and Tough Groove. The main differences in the cases have to do with how the cases are finished. The Speckled case has a sporty motif to the look while the Neon cases are brightly colored with metallic buttons.

USER IMPRESSIONS

I was fortunate enough to be able to test out multiple cases in the Tough product line. The Tough Speckled ended up being my favorite because I like its subtle style. The case is rigid but flexible enough to be able to install and remove the phone from the case without a lot of struggles. The buttons are quite responsive and it’s easy to access the Lightning port on the bottom of the phone. I was very excited that the Tough Speckled case — as well as the other cases in the product family — was compatible with wireless charging. While there are a lot of options out there for cases for the iPhone 11 Pro, many of them are not compatible with wireless charging. Since that’s one of my favorite features of the newer iPhones, I want to be able to take advantage of it.

As far as protection goes, I feel confident that my phone isn’t going to be damaged while it’s in the case. There is a minimal lip on the case that provides to help with screen protection. I don’t like a pronounced lip on cases, but I do feel that this one could be a little bit more than it is. I happen to have a tempered glass screen protector on my phone and the lip on the case doesn’t sit much higher than the screen protector. I do really like the cut-out for the camera lenses. It is large enough for all three lenses to be functional and the case does not intrude on the camera function at all. I’ve actually found it quite easy to take photos with one hand if needed.

CONCLUSIONS

Case-Mate does not disappoint with the Tough Speckled case for the iPhone 11 Pro. All of the cases in their Tough line are remarkable, but the Speckled still remains my personal favorite because of it’s unique, but subtle style. I do wish there was a bit more screen-impact protection, but since I keep a screen protector on my phone it’s not a deal-breaker for me. At $40 (at the time of publishing), I don’t think this is overpriced, but it is on the high side of what I would spend on a case like this.

For more information, visit case-mate.com, Facebook, and Twitter.

Originally published at https://macsources.com on December 12, 2019.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 