BUBM Double Layer Medium size Travel Organizer REVIEW | Mac Sources5

MacSources
6 min readFeb 26, 2020

--

Organize your dongles

As our technology moves from USB-micro and Lightning to USB-C, we are forced to purchase more and more cables. Likely, you can find dozens of USB-A to USB-micro cables lying around and countless USB-A to Lightning cables. However, we are still on the cusp of new technology, when considering USB-C. Only recently have I started to amass several USB-A to USB-C, USB-C to USB-C, and other necessary dongles (lightning and USB-C). In fact, I encourage you to watch the humorous Apple Dongle video, and try to maintain a straight face. Having thrice attended CES in Las Vegas, Nevada, and the recent Imaging USA 2020 conference, I have grown to hate the dreaded dongle search. It never failed that I would need a charging cable, my HDMI to lightning or HDMI to USB-C dongles, or my 3.5mm adapters. Ire inducing, I struggled to find where I had misplaced them. Thus, instead of dumping my cables into a drawer or into a backpack/satchel, I wanted a stand-alone cable organizer for my cables/dongles.

A quick Amazon search led me to the BUBM “Be Unique Be Myself” double layer medium travel storage bag, which was available in black, black pu leather, dark blue, denim blue, denim grey, and denim pink colors. I ultimately decided upon the black medium-sized bag, which measured 9 1/4 inches long by 6 1/2 inches wide by 3 1/2 inches thick. The cover panel had a centralized 1 3/4 inches wide by 7/8 inches tall rubberized logo with BUBM in bold white and red coloration. The surrounding stitching mirrored the outer 7 7/8 inches wide by 4 1/2 inches tall surrounding layer of stitching. The top panel had a 4 7/8 inches long by 15/16 inches wide carry handle, and the remaining surfaces were devoid of writing. Each of the two chambers was lined by approximately 24-inches of zippered teeth, with dual zipper pulls. When fully unzipped, the bag could unfold at the 6 5/8 inches wide clamshell hinge.

When unzipped and unfolded, the upper chamber could be divided into two parts. The inner flap of the cover measured 8 3/8 inches wide by 6 inches tall. The panel was divided into five columns of varying widths by a light grey mesh material. From left to right, the columns measured 1 3/8 inches wide, 1 1/2 inches wide, 1 3/4 inches wide, 1 1/2 inches wide, and 1 1/2 inches wide. At 1 3/8 inches from the top of the panel, BUBM included a 3/4 inches wide elastic band. Along the bottom of the panel, they included a 1 7/8 inches tall mesh pocket with 3/8 inches thick elastic band cap. These columns proved to successfully hold at least five coiled cables of varying lengths. Within my five chambers, I added a 40 inches long flat USB-A to USB-micro cable, a standard 41 1/2 inches long USB-A to Lightning cable with cable management strap, standard white and black 41 1/2 inches long USB-C to Lightning, as well as a black USB-A to USB-C cable.

To continue this theme, the inner panel had three more of the columns. However this time, the columns measured 6 inches tall and 1 7/16 inches wide. Each of these columns had a 3/4 inches thick elastic strap, which was located one inch from the top of the panel (spine). Along the bottom section of each of the columns, there was a 2 1/8 inches tall mesh pocket with 3/8 inches thick elastic cap. Similar to the five columns above, the lower three columns could accommodate 1–2 coiled cables. From left to right, I added lightning to HDMI dongle, a 41-inches long 3.5mm to 3.5mm braided cable, and USB-A to USB-C dongle into the lower columns. Just to the left of the three columns, you will find a single six inches tall by 3 1/2 inches wide accessory pocket, accessible via a single zipper-pul. Within the mesh-lined zipper pouch, I added an iclever BOOSTDRIVE dual USB-A output car adaptor (5V/4.8A), a 1MORE 3.5mm airplane adaptor, plus my 3.5mm to USB-C, and 3.5mm to Lightning dongles. I loved the dark black background with the grey mesh/dividers. Additionally, the BUBM zipper pull, along with the inner zipper pocket, and the small tag, at the top of the upper panel, added an exciting touch of flare. Before closing the pouch, I added a plastic ziplock bag that contained an 8 1/2 inches long USB-A to USB-micro cable and a braided 41 3/4 inches long USB-A to magnetic adjustable cable (USB-C, Lightning, USB-micro).

Unzipping the lower panel, I found a similar layout to the top chamber. The top layer (inner flap) contained two 3 3/8 inches tall by 4 1/8 inches wide mesh pockets with 3/8 inches tall elastic retention bands. I placed a 30W USB-C charging cube into the left chamber and a USB-C to HDMI/USB-C/USB-A dongle in the other pocket. The reverse side of the pockets was felt-lined and became part of another larger pocket just behind them. The 6 inches tall by 8 1/4 inches wide upper pocket was designed to house a cell phone or a small tablet. I found that it worked perfectly to house my 4 3/4 inches long by 3 1/4 inches tall 1MORE zippered earbud accessory bag. The lower felt-lined chamber allowed for a large degree of customization with Velcro/felt-lined spacers. I divided the chamber into thirds, spaced into two smaller and one larger rectangles. Using one of the larger dividers and one of the small dividers, I broke this space into two 3 1/2 inches long by 3 1/2 inches wide pockets, and a 4 1/2 inches wide by 7 inches long large pocket. Within the left upper pocket, I added a DROK USB-A and DROK USB-C LCD Multimeter. Along the bottom left pocket, I added a 15W USB-C apple charger and a model PA-Y19 AUKEY 27W PD charger. Within the right column, I added a braided 84 inches long Uno branded HDMI to HDMI cable and a Nomad Pod for Apple Watch under one of the retention straps (Velcro). On top of the HDMI cable, I added an AUKEY USB-C charge Hub. Loaded with the above gear, the bag and contents weighed 43 oz.

Instead of hunting for my dongles/cables, I now enjoy my BUBM Everyday Carry (EDC) bag. For the low price of $16.49, I gained a significant amount of organization. To summarize, I obtained eight cable-columns, a zippered side pouch, two medium-mesh pockets, one large felt-lined velcro-accessible pocket, and a lower customizable section. The Red/white zipper pull accents added a great deal to the overall allure of the case and the stitching appeared to be top-notch. I have carried this bag daily over the past three months and have grown to rely upon the organization. Gone are the days that I simply throw cables into my backpack. Now, I have larger/smaller organization bags to maintain some semblance of order. If you are tired of searching for that annoying dongle/cable, then look no further than the BUBM organizer. Assuming that I put my cables away when done, it was rather comforting to know that I would not need to hunt for that missing dongle again.

Learn more about BUBM products
Follow BUBM on Facebook.

Originally published at https://macsources.com on February 26, 2020.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 