Brainwavz Delta Earphones REVIEW

MacSources
5 min readJun 18, 2018

--

Ever since I got my iPhone 7, I’ve found myself gravitating towards using Bluetooth headphones almost exclusively. Even though I have the choice of using my Lighting/headphone jack adapter, I typically don’t want to deal with the extra cable that drops down from my ears. That said, there is something magical about the wired sound quality you get from high-quality earphones. I love finding earphones that provide a solid sound quality at a cost-effective price. This is why when I found the Delta earbuds from Brainwavz I was excited to test them out.

DETAILS

The Delta earbuds are designed to perform perfectly for all genres of music. They are made with an all-metal body and come equipped with an in-line microphone and 3-button remote. There are three color variations of the earphones red/black, silver/white, and black/red and they all come with 3 sets of silicone ear tips (S, M, L). In addition to the silicone ear tips, Brainwavz also includes a set of Comply Foam Ear Tips for comfort. The built-in remote is designed to work with Apple iOS devices and most Android phones. These headphones are meant to provide a premium sound with balanced bass at a budget price.

SPECS

  • Drivers: Dynamic, 8 mm
  • Rated Impedance: 16Ω
  • Frequency Range: 20 Hz ~ 20 kHz
  • Sensitivity : 100 dB at 1 mW
  • Rated Input Power: 20 mW
  • Cable: 1.3 m Y-Cord, Copper
  • Plug: 3.5 mm, Gold plated

USER EXPERIENCE

The Delta earphones come in a plastic box with some nice branding on the exterior. The front of the box shows an image of the earphones along with the official name and usage of the product. The side of the box calls out a 24-month warranty and the main features of the 3-button microphone and remote. The back of the box has a nice description of the headphones and its specs. I actually like this type of packaging for something in this price range (less than $30).

When you open the outer packaging, you will find a hard shell case with a nylon covering. It has a double zipper closure and is very sturdy. Inside the case is the headphones and is accessories along with the instruction manual. The headphones its extra ear gels and the shirt clip are wrapped tightly inside a plastic baggie. I was surprised to see that kind of care taken in the packaging of these headphones. It’s not typically something I find with headphones in this price range.

When I review headphones there are two really important factors I look at comfort and sound quality. I am sometimes a marathon listener and having earbuds that rest comfortably in my ear canal is important. This can be a really tricky feat for me to conquer though because most earbuds don’t typically fit my ears well. Apple’s AirPods work really well for me but most other standard earbud shapes don’t. They will slip out of my ears and just won’t form a tight enough seal with my inner ear to make the sound resonate properly. As a result, music will usually end up sounding flat and will be missing the key bass element that music needs to sound full and rich.

The Delta earbuds, unfortunately, fell into the ‘didn’t fit quite right’ column for me. I switched out the ear tips to try and make the best fit possible, but the earbuds just didn’t form a tight enough seal unless I held them in place. When I did hold them in place, I could feel the bass from the earbuds and music sounded much stronger than when I didn’t hold them in place. So, in addition to the sound quality suffering from the poor fit (for me personally), the comfort level was also compromised. After wearing the headphones for about 20 minutes, my ears started to ache and it just wasn’t a very pleasant listening experience.

I do want to make a special note here that this isn’t going to be the case for every user. Everyone’s ears are shaped differently and if you use earbuds on a regular basis and they fit you well, I believe that you will likely have a good fit with these.

Now, in addition to streaming music from Pandora, I also watched video from Netflix Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 to be exact. I chose this particular video because it has a rather complicated sound mix filled with music, dialogue, and sound effects. Even though some of the bass was lost due to my lack of perfect fit, the sound mix was still very strong and well-heard through the Delta earbuds. I could hear all different parts of the audio tracks. I didn’t notice any drop out whatsoever. I did, however, find that the 3-button control did not function properly when connected through the Lightning adapter. The play/pause button did work, but the volume up/down buttons did not.

CONCLUSIONS

The Delta earbuds are a really nice option for cost-effective headphones. At $30, they really have a lot to offer a user who likes to wear earbuds and enjoys high-quality audio. Even though these didn’t fit me very well, I would expect that people who typically have good luck with earbuds fitting would find the Delta earphones comfortable.

For more information, visit brainwavzaudio.com
Find Brainwavz on Facebook and Twitter.

Related

Originally published at macsources.com on June 18, 2018.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 