Aukey USB-C to USB-C cable REVIEW | Mac Sources10

MacSources
4 min readJan 2, 2020

--

Perfect add-on gift!

As a kid growing up in the ’80s and ’90s, I loved everything tech-related. It never failed, however, that we would excitedly tear through our presents, remove the devices, only to find out that we did not have the necessary batteries. Without meaning to, my father created an annual family tradition to frequent the local 7–11, the only place open on Christmas Day. Eventually, this led to batteries in our stockings and ultimately into random tech accessories. This season, as we make the final push to get those last-minute tech gifts, do not forget about USB cables because they can make amazing add-on gifts.

The Aukey USB-C to USB-C Cable arrived in a 3 3/4 inches wide by 4 1/4 inches tall by 5/8 inches thick retail package. The cover panel listed the company name and title across the top and provided an image of the red 6.6 foot/2 meters long cable along the bottom. The image showed three loops of the circular cable and provided a side-by-side view of the USB-C to USB-C ends. I believe that the image successfully portrayed everything that the end-user needed to know about the cable, without extraneous verbiage. Aukey also masterfully utilized a clean white pallet as the perfect backdrop for the colorful Aukey cable. The top, bottom and side panels were left unadorned, while the back panel listed the model number, several of the standard product manufacturing labels, and the contact information for the company.

I removed the outer thin layer of plastic and slid the contents out of the small box. Within the box, I found a 1.72-ounce red USB-C to USB-C cable, 24-month product warranty card (key-shaped sticker on the back), and an 8-panel polylingual instruction manual. I was surprised that the model CB-CD19 braided cable came with a leather binding strap, which measured 4 3/4 inches long by 1/2 inches wide. Each USB-C end was composed of a 1/4 inches long metallic end, and a 1 1/8 inches long plastic cap and neck. Since most cables fail at the neck region, Aukey included a generous neck segment. I gripped each end of the cable and twisted, bent, and tugged at them until I was certain that the neck cable was secure. After roughly 25 cycles, the cable remained in perfect working order.

One of my biggest dislikes of the modern tech-filled world is the need for numerous cables. In fact, my wife requests that I attempt to hide them as much as possible. It is for this reason, that my favorite aspect of the AUKEY USB-C to USB-C cable was the included leather strap. The ability to loop/coil the cable, as needed, provided a convenient way to lengthen/shorten the cable. Coupled with the red color, which helped to quickly differentiate between standard USB-A to Lightning and USB-A to Micro-USB, the AUKEY USB-C to USB-C cable has found its way into my everyday carry bag (EDC). Despite the nearly flawless review, I wish that the cables were MFI certified because the moniker adds an extra level of confidence in the product. However, I am aware that the MFI status adds to the overall cost of the item.

I was pleased with the quality of the cable, the 24-month product warranty, with the braiding, the color, the leather strap, and ultimately with the ability to charge/transfer data. Throughout my review, I utilized the cable to charge my iPad Pro 11" and my Nintendo Switch. I was unable to tell any difference between the included Apple/Nintendo cables and the Aukey USB-C to USB-C cable. Paired with the AUKEY 27W PD Wall charger and the 18W PD Car charger (REVIEWS COMING SOON), what more does the tech-lover in your life need? At just under $10, the Aukey USB-C to USB-C cable will make the perfect present.

Learn more about the AUKEY USB-C to USB-C cable
Follow AUKEY on Facebook and Twitter.

Originally published at https://macsources.com on January 2, 2020.

--

--

MacSources

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 