ANDYCINE A6 5.7-inch HDMI Field Monitor REVIEW

DETAILS

The ANDYCINE A6 5.7-inch HDMI Field Monitor is compatible with popular brands of DSLRs like Sony, Nikon, and Canon as well as gimbals. It features a 5.7-inch IPS screen. It’s lightweight and is the perfect size for most shooting jobs including use with gimbals and handheld stabilizers. It has 1920 x 1080 as its native resolution and a brightness rating of 460 nits. The monitor will support a 4K HDMI signal input. The monitor is powered through built-in DC-8V power or a portable battery. It also comes equipped with an HDMI input port and 3.5mm earphone jack.

  • Focus Assist or Focus Peaking (red, green, blue — three colors optional highlight over parts of the image in focus)
  • Image Flip
  • Zebra Exposure
  • Color Temperature adjustment
  • Anamorphic de-squeeze (1.3x, 2.0x, 2.0x MAG)
  • Nine Grid (zoom one of the images to realize the full screen)
  • Zoom (4x, 9x, 16x)
  • Safe Frames (80%, 85%, 90%, 93%, 96%, 2.35:1)
  • Ratio Markers (4:3, 13:9, 14:9, 15:9, 16:9, 1.85:1, 2.35:1)
  • Viewing Angle: 80°80° (LR) 80°80° (UD)
  • HDMI Input/ Output Support Format
  • 480i/576i/480p/576p
  • 1080i (60/59.94/50)
  • 720p (60/59.94/50/30/29/25/24/23.98)
  • 1080p (60/59.94/50/30/29.97/25/24/24sF23.98 23.98sF)
  • 4K UHD 3840×2160p (30/29.97/25/24/23.98Hz), DCI 4K 4096×2160p (24Hz)
  • 1× Mini HDMI Cable
  • 1× Sunshade
  • 1×Tilt Arm
  • 1× F970 Battery Plate(already mounted)
  • 1× Operation Manual

USER EXPERIENCE

Out of the box, the monitor is pretty much ready to go. It comes with the cables it needs for operation, but no power source. It is compatible with NP-F550 from RAVPower (a battery that is largely used with Sony cameras), which I already had on-hand. So, that is the power source I decided to go with. In addition to the Shoe Mount, the monitor also comes with a Sunshade and frame. The sunshade and frame piece together with Velcro, which works wonderfully, but I have to admit that when I went to stow the monitor in my camera bag, I pulled the sunshade off the frame and the Velcro that is on the frame stuck to the bag. This made sure that the monitor was secure and moving around in the bag, but it did make it harder to pull the monitor out of the bag quickly. The sunshade is a great add-on and I recommend using it. In bright light, it makes it much easier to see your subject.

  • 3.5mm Port: For headphones and audio output.
  • DC IN 12V: DC power input interface, polarity as the input power
  • DC OUT 8V: DC power output interface, polarity s the input power
  • HDMI IN: v1.4, HDMI signal input up to 4K@30Hz

CONCLUSION

This is a remarkable little monitor and I was shocked at the premium quality I was getting with such a budget-friendly option. I think that the menu system is user-friendly but it did take me a little time to get used to where things were located. Once I did, I flew through set-ups and found my production quality improved simply because I could monitor my progress as I shot. I can recommend this monitor for semi-pro use. It’s affordable and works great.

Related

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
MacSources

MacSources

808 Followers

Mac Sources is an Information and Technology Company. We review all things technology-related. Our team also reports on tech news happening in the world. 